Seller Highlight: Sue / SueNichollsdesigns

As part of our run-up to the Etsy Christmas pop-up shop at the end of this month, we’d like to introduce some of our sellers to you. We asked them a few questions about their shop, how they became an Etsy seller and their golden tips for online success!

This episode: Sue from SueNichollsDesigns

Sue creates quirky, colourful, contemporary pictures, home decorations and accessories, many with a botanical theme. She uses traditional techniques such as crochet, felting and embroidery to produce highly individual work.

How did you choose your shop name?

It’s my name!

How did you decide to be an Etsy Seller?

I feel it is the best online selling site for creatives. Have been a user since it started and recently decided to take the plunge and stock my shop that has been empty for a couple of years. Also wanted to take advantage of networking opportunities such as our Pop-Up shop to expand my business

What do you love most about your products?

I love the fact that they don’t look like anything else around and I really enjoy making them.

What have been your biggest challenges in running an Etsy Shop?

Getting my head around how to market the stuff you make. Keywords, tags, product descriptions. It all seems like a dark art thats not easy to fathom.

What are your best tips for running an Etsy shop?

Be organised, have an overall look in mind for your shop and work hard on the details.

suenicholls flower suenicholls ices suenicholls mistletoe suenicholls wreaths

 

Come meet Sue, and our other sellers at the Fountain Inn, 12 Regent Street, Cambridge!

29th November 2014: 11:00 – 20:00

30th November 2014: 11:00 – 20:00

yvettebessels

Hi - my name's Yvette! Originally from the Netherlands, I am a kind, lively and laid-back person with a can-do attitude. Together with my husband Sean, we have moved from the Netherlands to Newcastle-upon-Tyne (UK), Leamington Spa (UK), Sheffield (UK), Sydney (Australia), back to the Netherlands, to Dusseldorf (Germany), Cambridge (UK), Frankfurt (Germany and now Toronto (Canada) in the last 9 years. And no, I don't think this is our final stop either! I have learned most of my photographic craft whilst at Art college (quite a few years back), from the two portrait studio jobs I held in Newcastle-upon-Tyne and from assisting fine art dealer Linus Carr in Warwick. Even though I still own and use my digital camera, I mainly shoot on medium format Black and White film, using a Rolleiflex TLR. As I become more and more fascinated with old photography techniques, I started shooting wet plates in 2013. You can see some of my work on www.yvettebessels.com As anyone who has visited my shop 1000crows.com or '1000crowsVintage' on Etsy may attest to, I am a big fan of carboots / charity shops as well as vintage fairs, garage sales, auctions ..... you get the idea - and my house is slowly filling up with beautiful random things - some of which I sell online, and some of which I will hoard for a while. x

Leave a comment